The LEMON CURD recipe

I’ve been meaning to post this about a month ago but had my hands full transitioning to Northern California.  I should be head deep in my books right now but decided…..I rather blog.   If you’ve been following this blog you know that I have been trying to find the “perfect lemon curd.”  Does a such a thing exists?  Aren’t all curds the same? Yes and No.  I’ve tried my fair share of curds and never seem to be satisfied….although the taste is great…I’m looking beyond the taste.  I’m looking at the texture of the curd.  Curd is made from eggs, specifically egg yolks.  Up until now, the recipes that I have tried and altered never provided me with the soft gelatinous texture that I look for in the curd.  My curd test is to see if the curd will “stiffen” once refridgerated.  Curd should be able to maintain its smooth texture regardless of the temperature.

The key to this curd recipe is to not only use egg yolks but also egg whites.  You need the egg whites to provide the protein needed to help the curd reach the desired texture.  The curd was fantastic and went straight into a 3 layer sponge cake with almonds and whipped frosting.

I made this cake for my cousin’s bday.  It’s like a lemon roll but in cake form.  🙂

 

Here’s the recipe!

Lemon Curd (adapted from David Lebovitz)

1/2 cup  freshly-squeezed lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
1/2 cup sugar
2 large egg yolks
2 large eggs
pinch of salt
6 tablespoon unsalted butter cubed

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl (or double boiler) mix together egg yolks, eggs, lemon juice, sugar, and salt.
  2. Place bowl over a medium heat and add butter cubes.  Continue to stir until the mixture has a gelatinous texture.
  3. To determine if curd is ready, run a finger down the back of the spoon and if the curd maintains its shape then it is ready to go.
  4. Remove from heat and strain the curd to remove any possible egg scramble.
  5. Pour into a heat safe container and let cool prior to refrigerating.
  6. Curd will be good for up to  1 week once refrigerated.

3 responses to “The LEMON CURD recipe

Leave a comment